Sweet Static

Yes, another mp3 blog. Trying to share what I like with the world. The music here is for sampling only and are up for a limited time. It's simple really you see. If you like the music then go out and support the artists. Buy a cd/mp3/eight track, make a request on radio, see them live, tell others about it. This way this wonderful medium hopefully won't be stomped on.

Location: Windsor, Ont, Canada

Sweet Static is an mp3 blog that allows me to share the music I love and also to point out other cool things around the internet that catch my attention. It is also a place where I can talk about my radio show by the same name, now on Thursday nights from 7:00 pm to 8:00 pm on CJAM 91.5 FM in Windsor, Ontario. Got something I should hear? Email me at sweetstatic @ gmail.com. All comments left here are emailed to my inbox, so you can get a hold of me that way also. You can also follow the show/me on twitter at sweetstaticcjam.

Tuesday, March 27, 2007

Rheostatics-Realtime Session (CBC-1997)

Back again today with one of my favorite Rheostatics shows ever. But first over at radio free canuckistan, part two of the Have Not Been The Same excerpt has been posted along with a review of the Rheostatics show in Waterloo from Sunday. You can read part two right here.

Now a few words on the Realtime session from March of 1997. Realtime was one of the many shows CBC Stereo (later to be known as CBC 2) would use on Saturday night to try and get young people to watch. In 1997, during Canadian Music Week they invited the Rheostatics to do an hour and they in turn brought some of their friends. Those friends would include Kevin Hearn, Tamara Williamson, Gordon Downie, Guh and Ron Sexsmith.

The session was amazing. Some surprising choices ("Onilley's Strange Dream" for sure) and great collaborations. I used to have this on tape but misplaced it over the years. Thankfully it was put up on the Rheostatics Live Archive and I've been able to enjoy it once again. Now is your chance to get this show that is highly recommended.

Here's the set list for the show.

01. Intro 0:57
02. Bad Time To Be Poor 4:10
03. Morotino 4:26
04. R.D.A. 3:28
05. Banter 1:11
06. Sweet Rich Beautiful Mine 5:35
07. Every Irrelevance 4:56
08. Something To Cry About 5:22
09. Take Me In Your Hand 3:23
10. So Young, So Young 4:28
11. More Banter 1:02
12. Onilley's Strange Dream 6:16
13. Dopefiends And Boozehounds 8:03
14. Song Of Flight 0:51

To download the Rheostatics' Realtime Session click here.

You can also get it the Realtime session at the Rheostatics Live Archive here.



Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

free web tracker Performancing