Sweet Static

Yes, another mp3 blog. Trying to share what I like with the world. The music here is for sampling only and are up for a limited time. It's simple really you see. If you like the music then go out and support the artists. Buy a cd/mp3/eight track, make a request on radio, see them live, tell others about it. This way this wonderful medium hopefully won't be stomped on.

Location: Windsor, Ont, Canada

Sweet Static is an mp3 blog that allows me to share the music I love and also to point out other cool things around the internet that catch my attention. It is also a place where I can talk about my radio show by the same name, now on Thursday nights from 7:00 pm to 8:00 pm on CJAM 91.5 FM in Windsor, Ontario. Got something I should hear? Email me at sweetstatic @ gmail.com. All comments left here are emailed to my inbox, so you can get a hold of me that way also. You can also follow the show/me on twitter at sweetstaticcjam.

Saturday, January 13, 2007

Post 299 aka New Rheostatics Bootleg Site

So I'm sitting here, uploading the mix from the Sweet Static Baker's Dozen and notice that I'm at post 299. So since I'd like post 300 to be something special I am forced to come up with another post and quick. I've been meaning to post on this for a bit so now is as a good a time as any.

The Rheostatics are one of my favorite bands of all time. One of the cool things about the band is that they've always supported the taping of their shows. Now, thanks to fan Darrin Cappe, there is a site for these shows to be saved in a centralized location.

Rheostatics Live is a collection of live shows, videos, tv appearances and anything else a Green Sprout fan could want. All the shows are available as a zip file for direct download. An amazing site with lots of stuff to check out.

My personal favorite is a CBC session the band did with guests like Kevin Hearn, Ron Sexsmith, Gord Downie, Guh, Tamara Williamson and more. I used to have it on tape and it's nice to have it again. The set list is

01. Intro 0:57
02. Bad Time To Be Poor 4:10
03. Morotino 4:26
04. R.D.A. 3:28
05. Banter 1:11
06. Sweet Rich Beautiful Mine 5:35
07. Every Irrelevance 4:56
08. Something To Cry About 5:22
09. Take Me In Your Hand 3:23
10. So Young, So Young 4:28
11. More Banter 1:02
12. Onilley's Strange Dream 6:16
13. Dopefiends And Boozehounds 8:03
14. Song Of Flight 0:51

For info on this show and the link to download it click here.


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

free web tracker Performancing